The ‘What If’ Factor

Martine Lillycrop

What If I’ve been asked many times “How do you get the ideas for your stories?”

In fact, I’ve probably answered that question on here already, but I was talking to someone recently and it reminded me of a conversation I had with my dad in the heady days when I believed I would become a best-selling author by the time I was 18.

He asked me to consider the “What If” factor.  I, of course, looked at him blankly.  He had a way of doing that to me, which is part of the reason I loved him so much – he challenged me to think.

‘Most science fiction stories come from the author asking the question “What if?”‘  he said.  As if that explained it.

While I admit that a lot of my stories have come from the bizarre dreams I’m afflicted with, the What If factor has been extremely useful. …

View original post 490 more words

One thought on “The ‘What If’ Factor

Join the conversation

