9 Black Character Stereotypes to Avoid in Your Writing

Congratulations, you’re writing a story with a diverse set of characters. This is a great thing and needs to be supported. A fear of political correctness mustn’t stop writers from creating characters from other races, religions or walks of life. Writing from beyond your own experience takes a little bit more thought and work, but that’s our job, right?

The first step to writing non-white characters is understanding the mistakes of the past. So here’s my checklist for avoiding the most common black character stereotypes:

  1. Angry Black Woman/man: This character is often angry for no reason and there for comic effect. We get the pursed lipped, finger clicking, head wobbling ‘sassy’ black woman, who bursts into the scene and then disappears after we’ve finished laughing. The haranguing wife/mother/grandmother all feature. Then the black man is the loud, swearing, angry figure, who may seem violent and threatening. The angry black person trope reduces these characters to emotions without reason. They’re just complaining and threatening. It’s a way of preventing black characters from having a valid opinion and just putting their anger down to having an ‘attitude’, rather than listening to what they have to say or giving the characters depth beyond their ethhnicity. Tara from Trueblood plays into this stereotype.
  2. The slave: There’s often a tendency to make black people tragic figures who can only be there to represent the suffering of ‘their people’. They soldier on
    black character stereotypes

    “THE HELP” uses a mixture of the white saviour and slave tropes

    against adversity, quietly suffering, but showing noble strength of spirit. Whilst slavery is a tale that needs to be told, if these are the only stories black people get to be part of, we are never seen as part of the present or even the future. Lupito Nyong’o became a Hollywood darling after her Oscar-winning performance in 12 Years a Slave, but we haven’t seen her face in a film since. She’s been relegated to voice acting in Star Wars and Jungle Book (no comment). Is she too dark to be Ryan Gosling’s love interest or compete for the next Jennifer Lawrence role?

  3. The comic relief: This character is usually reduced to catch phrases, such as, “aww, hell naw”, “sheeet” and “dayum”. Unable to step into the shoes of the hero, the black character is reduced to an amusing sidekick, which plays into the racist minstrels stereotype of yesteryear – all wide-eyed and flappy-mouthed. The most recent offender is the Ghost Busters reboot, which has a cast of white women playing physicists and scientific experts in their field. The lone black character is an expert in ‘the streets’ and proceeds to amuse us with her urban slang and loud exclamations of surprise. There is no nuance here.
  4. The drug dealer, hood, gangster: News flash – not all black people are born in the hood and have experience of poverty, gang culture, drug dealing and hip-hop. There is a black middle-class, which means some of us are doctors, lawyers, journalists and everything in-between. If you need a streetwise character in your story, don’t default to black because it’s been done and paints just one black experience.

    black character stereotypes

    The black man as street hustler

  5. The athlete: The black athlete plays into the preconception that black people have a natural physical aptitude for sport. Not only does this stem from a racist assumption that white people are intelligent and black people are physical specimens, but it also suggests that black people rely on being naturally sporty, while white people work hard to become champions. Often the black athlete character is trying to get ahead through sport, their only way out of the ‘ghetto’, but they are hindered by their childhood friends who are involved in gangs and guns. See point 4.
  6. ‘Police Chief/nurse: Whilst the professor, scientist or therapist is unlikely to be black, we are allowed to play the nurse or police chief. These characters often combine the angry black man/woman aspect, shouting at the hero to get things done and moving the plot on, rather than being actual characters. Anything more intellectually demanding or seemingly middle class than these public sector roles are often beyond black characters. US television is the worst for this one and I’ve read articles from British black actors who say although they get more work in the US, they are reduced to certain roles, police chief or detective being the highest honour.
  7. Blind Faith: This character is often a loud believer in ‘the Lord Jesus Christ’, almost to the point of superstition. Anything beyond the everyday is declared as the work of the devil and needs loud praising of the lord. Although the church may play a significant role in some parts of the black community, black people are capable of having faith without shouting about it and waving a tambourine at the ceiling.
  8. Magical Negro: Whilst many of the above tropes lend themselves to screenwriting, particularly, the magical negro is an easy one to slip into novels because
    black character stereotypes

    In ‘Ghost’ Whoopi Goldberg becomes the mystical native to the white leads

    they can sit in fantasy, sci-fi or even contemporary settings. This character is almost saintly in their wisdom and sits around waiting for the white hero to cross their path. Then, for no reason at all, they bestow wisdom upon the white protagonist, helping them fulfill their destiny and then either die or disappear. This character plays into the idea that black people (Native Americans suffer this trope even more) have some deep ties to the ‘ancient ways’, suggesting an inherent tribal or shamanic magical connection to the earth or the universe or some shit. Just no, people. For examples, check out Stephen King’s The Green Mile and The Shining – he loves them mystical negroes. Avoid by giving black characters with magic their own arc and motivation, beyond helping the white protagonist. Even better make the black magic user the central character – yay!

  9. Extravagant Gay Man: This one is a favourite of 80s films. The black gay man is often extravagant, loud and there for comic effect. This character dresses flamboyantly, displays ‘feminine’ traits, such as a love of hair and make-up, with excessive emotional highs and lows, as well as bitchy one-liners. The larger than life black gay man can also show some magical negro traits, offering help to the white lead out of the goodness of their heart. See the film Mannequin for a prime example. This trope works by softening the black male, who is often seen as a sexual threat, by feminising them, making them more palatable and harmless fun. It’s a problematic character for so many reasons, playing into racial and gay stereotypes at the same time. Also see Fifth Element.
black character stereotypes

The extravagant black gay man also slots into the magical negro category, helping the white protagonist with no motivation of their own.

Most of these tropes are seen in film and TV, but that’s only because POC (people of colour) are largely absent from fiction. However, it’s good to recognise the mistakes of one form, so that we can avoid them in our own and have fun creating characters of colour who are the heroes of their own story. Plus we have to be prepared for when Hollywood comes calling with a film contract, right?

For more support on writing POC, check this blog. It has advice, articles and offers feedback for writers on how to deal with their non-white characters, proving that support is more helpful than constant criticism.

 

 

21 thoughts on “9 Black Character Stereotypes to Avoid in Your Writing

  1. This was really helpful. I’m trying to include a lot of diversity in a novel I’m writing because I’ve noticed it’s sorely lacking in pretty much everything I’ve watched and read. My book is has nine main charecters I’ve only figured out four so far but at least one of them will be black her name is Lyric and she is really good with puzzles and computers and just overall really smart she has a little sister named Harmony and they go on adventures I haven’t figured out the plot of but what I’m trying to make sure is that I don’t include any stereotypes by having her be very sarcastic and sometimes brutally honest is there anything I should change or add at all?

    Like

    • This was really helpful. I’m trying to include a lot of diversity in a novel I’m writing because I’ve noticed it’s sorely lacking in pretty much everything I’ve watched and read. My book is has nine main charecters I’ve only figured out four so far but at least one of them will be black her name is Lyric and she is really good with puzzles and computers and just overall really smart she has a little sister named Harmony and they go on adventures I haven’t figured out the plot of but what I’m trying to make sure is that I don’t include any stereotypes by having her be very sarcastic and sometimes brutally honest is there anything I should change or add at all?

      Like

  2. This was really helpful. I’m trying to include a lot of diversity in a novel I’m writing because I’ve noticed it’s sorely lacking in pretty much everything I’ve watched and read. My book is has nine main charecters I’ve only figured out four so far but at least one of them will be black her name is Lyric and she is really good with puzzles and computers and just overall really smart she has a little sister named Harmony and they go on adventures I haven’t figured out the plot of but what I’m trying to make sure is that I don’t include any stereotypes by having her be very sarcastic and sometimes brutally honest is there anything I should change or add?

    Like

    • This was really helpful. I’m trying to include a lot of diversity in a novel I’m writing because I’ve noticed it’s sorely lacking in pretty much everything I’ve watched and read. My book is has nine main charecters I’ve only figured out four so far but at least one of them will be black her name is Lyric and she is really good with puzzles and computers and just overall really smart she has a little sister named Harmony and they go on adventures I haven’t figured out the plot of but what I’m trying to make sure is that I don’t include any stereotypes by having her be very sarcastic and sometimes brutally honest is there anything I should change or add at all?

      Like

  3. Pingback: How to tell Black stories better – The Film Crawl

  4. Pingback: Write In Color – Trisza Ray

  5. OKAY, SO I HAVE QUESTIONS!! Hi, first off.
    So I’m writing a mystery fiction story about like vampires and stuff right? And the main character is a dark-skinned Irish goth girl named Jade. Now she’s really sassy and angry cause her sister died and basically no one cares. Now I’m already slightly tweaking the story cause I already made her parents (both also dark-skinned) a nurse and a police chief, so I’m changing the mom to be a lawyer (cause the dad being a police chief is important to plot) but I really want to know if this is playing into negative stereotypes. I really don’t wanna overhaul the whole and ik this was written a long time ago, but if this finds anyone can you help me out? I don’t wanna be stereotypical cause she also has magic. She’s my main character and I really want to portray her well.

    HELP

    Like

    • Hey, I found your comment and although I’m not black or dark-skinned (I’m Arab) I can try to help you out but don’t take everything I say into account because I might be wrong on some parts. I think you should change her sassy attitude since it’s the most problematic thing you haven’t changed yet. She has the right to be angry, but don’t make her get angry at things that have nothing to do with her sister unless she is at her breaking point. I feel like making her character into the observing calculating type but sarcastic type would be nice so when she gets angry, she really means it and it shows how much this means to her. Make her smart, brave, emotional, and feminine. I’m thinking of the main character from the hate you give, a smart girl who doesn’t get into a lot of drama, but when her friend dies she gets angry and tries to push for change and justice. It’s written by a black woman and got adapted into a movie the other year, so I don’t think the characters are stereotypical. You could use that as the basis for your character.

      Like

    • Not really – her meteoric rise has been as a result of being in 3 acclaimed films helmed by black directors. Not a coincidence. Casting of dark skinned black women is still lacking.

      Like

  6. Pingback: How to write people of colour and ‘the other’ | Writers Anon - Taunton's Writing Group

  7. Pingback: Rewriting the Balance of Black and White Characters in Fiction | Writers Anon - Taunton's Writing Group

  8. I understand your thoughts and agree. I have tried to include diverse characters in my book including a woman of color from a middle class family. My question runs something like this – “I’ve got the things I am supposed to avoid. How do I include diversity in my cast and manage to honor that diversity in a positive fashion?”

    Liked by 2 people

    • Hi Syddent – thanks for reading. I’ve had a think overnight. It’s a good question and I’ll probably do a post on it.

      But the first step would be read fiction written by POC and notice how they write about their characters. Next, hang out where POC hang out and with social media that’s easier than ever. Find blogs, read ‘black twitter’, Media Diversified and listen to what they’re talking about, what they’re saying and how they’re saying it. And find people (not just your one black friend) from the group you’re writing about to read your WIP. That’s the hardest one, but it can be done via feedback forums.

      Try this tumblr page http://writingwithcolor.tumblr.com/tagged/description – it’s fantastic. You can submit work to do an offensive check. It seems really supportive. However, be prepared to meet some anger on your journeys, it’s not personal, it’s just venting after years of misrepresentation or no representation at all.

      Basically, it just needs research and sensitivity. It sounds like you’ve got the second bit, so you’re halfway there.

      Good luck and let us know how you get on.

      Liked by 2 people

      • Thank you for posting this. I live in a diverse area and I try to reflect that diversity in my writing, so it’s always nice to be reminded to check for stereotypes before moving forward. I hope I’ve managed to do my characters justice.

        Liked by 1 person

Join the conversation